lawful.fyi

PFG

PRINCIPAL FINANCIAL GROUP INC
Non-compliant · 0/100
Data as of 2026-02-18

Price

Shariah compliance

PRINCIPAL FINANCIAL GROUP INC is not compliant because of what its business does, not because of its balance sheet.

It clears the financial screens: debt vs. market cap is 19.68% against a 33% limit, and cash & interest-bearing assets vs. market cap is 22.21% against a 33% limit. Nothing in the arithmetic is close to a threshold.

Its core business is conventional banking and finance — classified as “Insurance - Health”.

Interest income not separately disclosed and cash position is elevated (22.2% ≥ 20% of market cap). Cannot safely assert compliance; manual review required.

  • Undisclosed interest income + elevated cash position (cash+securities / market cap = 22.2% ≥ 20%); manual check required.

Screening standard

The evidence

Screening criteria
TestFigureLimitSource
Failed: Business activityIts core business is conventional banking and finance — classified as “Insurance - Health”.not compliant
Passed: Debt vs. market capinterest-bearing debt / market cap = 19.68% (< 33% limit).19.68%< 33.00%
Failed: Interest income vs. revenueInterest income not separately disclosed and cash position is elevated (22.2% ≥ 20% of market cap). Cannot safely assert compliance; manual review required.not compliant
Passed: Cash & interest-bearing assets vs. market cap(cash + interest-bearing securities) / market cap = 22.21% (< 33% limit).22.21%< 33.00%

Every number, sourced

Figures read directly from SEC EDGAR XBRL facts. Don't trust us — verify.

Every figure used, with its filing source
FigureValueSource
Total revenueRevenues$15.6B
Interest-bearing debtLong term debt$3.9B
Cash & interest-bearing securitiesCash and cash equivalents at carrying value$4.4B
Total assetsAssets$341.4B
Shares outstandingEntity common stock shares outstanding216.0M shares
24-month avg. price24-month trailing average, not today's live price$92.344

Controversies

Separate from the shariah verdict above — always.

No flags. This company isn't on the BNC (Boycott National Committee) priority or divestment lists, or any grassroots BDS-supported campaign we line.

Market data

Market data figures
Market capShares × average price, not today's spot price—
Day lowToday's intraday low—
Day highToday's intraday high—
52-week lowLowest close in the past year—
52-week highHighest close in the past year—
VolumeShares traded today—
Average volume3-month daily average—
P/E ratioPrice ÷ trailing 12-month earnings—
Forward P/EPrice ÷ next year's estimated earnings—
EPSNet income per share, trailing twelve months—

Dividend

Dividend figures
Annual dividendforward estimate—
Dividend yieldAnnual dividend ÷ share price—
Last paidMost recent actual payment—
Next ex-dividend date—
Payout ratioShare of earnings paid out as dividends—